[AusNOG] Google DNS Blocking/Unblocking

Angelo Giuffrida angelo.giuffrida at gmail.com
Mon Jan 19 19:17:59 EST 2015

Failing that you can use the discuss list. It's usually pretty prompt and
active - https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/groups
On 19 Jan 2015 7:16 pm, "Angelo Giuffrida" <angelo.giuffrida at gmail.com>

> Try accessing this from the IP address that you suspect is blacklisted -
> http://ipv4.google.com/sorry/ - and it should clear any automated block
> that exists for that IP address.
> On 19 Jan 2015 7:01 pm, "Beeson, Ayden" <ABeeson at csu.edu.au> wrote:
>> I would have assumed if you were blocked by some sort of automatic
>> process due to some form of attack you would get an abuse email from the
>> same automatic system, have you checked your dns admin / ip admin emails
>> for that?
>> It might tell you how to get it fixed if that is the reason...
>> On 19 Jan 2015 17:25, Paul Julian <paul at oxygennetworks.com.au> wrote:
>> We have noticed recently that some customers are complaining about not
>> being able to resolve DNS via Google’s DNS servers, upon further
>> investigation we have found that we seem to be getting blocked by Google
>> from pinging or resolving DNS queries to their public servers, does anybody
>> know if there is some way we can check what the issue might be ?
>> I have searched the net looking for information about finding out if your
>> address ranges is blocked by them or anything like that but can’t seem to
>> find anything at all.
>> The only plausible thing I can think of is that one of our customers has
>> had a Trojan or some problem and been hitting Google’s servers and they
>> have blocked our range or something.
>> We don’t do any blocking like that within our network nor do our upstream
>> providers so I know it’s nothing there which is causing the problem, a
>> trace route stops responding well outside our network as well.
>> I would appreciate any suggestions on where I might look for some answers
>> for this as I can’t find anything in Google’s pages anywhere nor anything
>> via searches.
>> Thanks
>> Paul
>> [cid:csu-logo440d.bmp]<http://www.csu.edu.au/>
>>  |   SYDNEY   |   WAGGA WAGGA   |
>> ________________________________
>> This email (and any attachment) is confidential and is intended for the
>> use of the addressee(s) only. If you are not the intended recipient of this
>> email, you must not copy, distribute, take any action in reliance on it or
>> disclose it to anyone. Any confidentiality is not waived or lost by reason
>> of mistaken delivery. Email should be checked for viruses and defects
>> before opening. Charles Sturt University (CSU) does not accept liability
>> for viruses or any consequence which arise as a result of this email
>> transmission. Email communications with CSU may be subject to automated
>> email filtering, which could result in the delay or deletion of a
>> legitimate email before it is read at CSU. The views expressed in this
>> email are not necessarily those of CSU.
>> Charles Sturt University in Australia<http://www.csu.edu.au> The Grange
>> Chancellery, Panorama Avenue, Bathurst NSW Australia 2795 (ABN: 83 878 708
>> 551; CRICOS Provider Number: 00005F (National)). TEQSA Provider Number:
>> PV12018
>> Charles Sturt University in Ontario<http://www.charlessturt.ca/> 860
>> Harrington Court, Burlington Ontario Canada L7N 3N4 Registration:
>> www.peqab.ca<http://www.peqab.ca>
>> Consider the environment before printing this email.
>> _______________________________________________
>> AusNOG mailing list
>> AusNOG at lists.ausnog.net
>> http://lists.ausnog.net/mailman/listinfo/ausnog
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.ausnog.net/pipermail/ausnog/attachments/20150119/2ed6551e/attachment.html>

More information about the AusNOG mailing list