[AusNOG] Google DNS Blocking/Unblocking

Angelo Giuffrida angelo.giuffrida at gmail.com
Mon Jan 19 19:16:16 EST 2015

Try accessing this from the IP address that you suspect is blacklisted -
http://ipv4.google.com/sorry/ - and it should clear any automated block
that exists for that IP address.
On 19 Jan 2015 7:01 pm, "Beeson, Ayden" <ABeeson at csu.edu.au> wrote:

> I would have assumed if you were blocked by some sort of automatic process
> due to some form of attack you would get an abuse email from the same
> automatic system, have you checked your dns admin / ip admin emails for
> that?
> It might tell you how to get it fixed if that is the reason...
> On 19 Jan 2015 17:25, Paul Julian <paul at oxygennetworks.com.au> wrote:
> We have noticed recently that some customers are complaining about not
> being able to resolve DNS via Google’s DNS servers, upon further
> investigation we have found that we seem to be getting blocked by Google
> from pinging or resolving DNS queries to their public servers, does anybody
> know if there is some way we can check what the issue might be ?
> I have searched the net looking for information about finding out if your
> address ranges is blocked by them or anything like that but can’t seem to
> find anything at all.
> The only plausible thing I can think of is that one of our customers has
> had a Trojan or some problem and been hitting Google’s servers and they
> have blocked our range or something.
> We don’t do any blocking like that within our network nor do our upstream
> providers so I know it’s nothing there which is causing the problem, a
> trace route stops responding well outside our network as well.
> I would appreciate any suggestions on where I might look for some answers
> for this as I can’t find anything in Google’s pages anywhere nor anything
> via searches.
> Thanks
> Paul
> [cid:csu-logo440d.bmp]<http://www.csu.edu.au/>
>  |   SYDNEY   |   WAGGA WAGGA   |
> ________________________________
> This email (and any attachment) is confidential and is intended for the
> use of the addressee(s) only. If you are not the intended recipient of this
> email, you must not copy, distribute, take any action in reliance on it or
> disclose it to anyone. Any confidentiality is not waived or lost by reason
> of mistaken delivery. Email should be checked for viruses and defects
> before opening. Charles Sturt University (CSU) does not accept liability
> for viruses or any consequence which arise as a result of this email
> transmission. Email communications with CSU may be subject to automated
> email filtering, which could result in the delay or deletion of a
> legitimate email before it is read at CSU. The views expressed in this
> email are not necessarily those of CSU.
> Charles Sturt University in Australia<http://www.csu.edu.au> The Grange
> Chancellery, Panorama Avenue, Bathurst NSW Australia 2795 (ABN: 83 878 708
> 551; CRICOS Provider Number: 00005F (National)). TEQSA Provider Number:
> PV12018
> Charles Sturt University in Ontario<http://www.charlessturt.ca/> 860
> Harrington Court, Burlington Ontario Canada L7N 3N4 Registration:
> www.peqab.ca<http://www.peqab.ca>
> Consider the environment before printing this email.
> _______________________________________________
> AusNOG mailing list
> AusNOG at lists.ausnog.net
> http://lists.ausnog.net/mailman/listinfo/ausnog
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.ausnog.net/pipermail/ausnog/attachments/20150119/5fc10041/attachment.html>

More information about the AusNOG mailing list